LACLI - About Us

Since the beginning of this project in March 2020, LACLI has been a collective effort to share with the world a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. This project was launched and is managed by the Latin America Northeast Libraries Consortium (LANE). LACLI was originally spearheaded by LANE members Jesús Alonso-Regalado (University at Albany, SUNY), Paloma Celis Carbajal (NYPL), and Talía Guzmán González.

We would like to acknowledge Judith Alspach and James Simon from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) for sharing the data that helped start this project and Orchid Mazurkiewicz for authorizing us to adapt the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) subjects list. We are also thankful to the many people that have contributed to this project.

In 2022, the Latin America North East Libraries Network (LANE); El Colegio de México. Biblioteca Daniel Cosío Villegas; and the Fundação Getulio Vargas. Centro de Pesquisa e Documentação de História Contemporânea do Brasil (CPDOC), received a Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) Award for Institutional Collaborative Initiatives to expand the multilingual access to the resources included in LACLI by adding metadata in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

The names of our coordinators (LANE Executive team) and long-term collaborators are:

LACLI Executive Team

Jesús Alonso-Regalado - Principal Coordinator. LANE member. University at Albany, SUNY

Cate Kellett - Metadata Coordinator. LANE member. Yale Law Library

Eric Silberberg - Web Coordinator. LANE member. Queens College, City University of New York

Quality Control/Review Team

Jesús Alonso-Regalado -  Quality control coordinator. LANE member. University at Albany, SUNY

Anabel Gutiérrez - LANE member. New York University

Cate Kellett -  LANE member. Yale Law Library

Sonia Morcillo - Cambridge University Library

Collaborators (Past and Present)

Fernando Acosta-Rodríguez. LANE member. Princeton University

Arón Alvar Sánchez López. El Colegio de México

Julián Alvarez. Princeton University

Gina Andrade. University at Albany, SUNY

Sarah Aponte. LANE member. CUNY Dominican Studies Institute

Tomás Bocanegra Esqueda. El Colegio de México

Renan Marinho de Castro. Fundação Getulio Vargas

Micaela Chávez Villa. El Colegio de México

Paloma Celis Carvajal. New York Public Library

Víctor Cid Carmona. El Colegio de México

J. Silvia Cho. The Graduate Center, CUNY

Noa Corcoran-Tadd. Dumbarton Oaks

Jonathan Israel Escobar Farfán. El Colegio de México Liaison

Isabel Espinal. LANE member. University of Massachusetts 

Galilea Estrella Rosario. University at Albany

Patricia Figueroa. LANE member. Brown University

Melissa Gasparotto. LANE member. New York Public Library

Brie Gettleson. LANE member. University of Pennsylvania

Silvia Eunice Gutiérrez de la Torre. El Colegio de México

Talía Guzmán-González. Former LANE member and Chair.

Joe Holub. LANE member. University of Pennsylvania

John Honeycutt. Duke University

Mariana Lopes. Fundação Getulio Vargas

Martha Mantilla. LANE member. University of Pittsburgh

Cailane Melo. Fundação Getulio Vargas

Nicole Mendez. University of Pennsylvania

Sonia Morcillo. LANE member. Cambridge University

Diana Olivares Sánchez. El Colegio de México

José Valentín Ortiz Reyes. El Colegio de México

Ana Beatriz Mariano Pereira. Fundação Getulio Vargas

Ana Ramírez Luhrs. LANE member. Lafayette College

Camelia Romero Millán. El Colegio de México

Nelson Santana. LANE member. Bronx Community College, CUNY

Jennifer Schaefer. University of Connecticut

Lynn Shirey. Former LANE member. Harvard University. Retired

Sócrates Silva. LANE member. Columbia and Cornell University

Eric Silberberg. Queens College Library, City University of New York

Ryan Thomas. University at Albany

Miguel Valladares-Llata. LANE member. University of Virginia

Luz Elena Vergara Castro. El Colegio de México

LACLI Home | LANE Home