The Latin America North East Libraries (LANE) was established in July 1993 to promote and facilitate collaborative projects and resource sharing efforts for Latin American studies library resources and to enhance communication among members. The group evolved from the expansion of “New York-METRO”, a long-standing cooperative group of four institutions in the New York metropolitan area.

LANE Chairs




Denise Hibay New York Public LIbrary 1993-2000
Fernando Acosta-Rodríguez New York Public Library 2000-2003
Lynn Shirey Harvard University 2003-2005
Patricia Figueroa Brown University 2005-2007
Martha Mantilla University of Pittsburgh 2007-2010
Melissa Gasparotto Rutgers University 2011-2014
Michael Scott Georgetown University 2014-2016
JIll Baron Dartmouth College 2016-2019*
Talía Guzmán-González Library of Congress. Hispanic Reading Room 2019-2020
Jesús Alonso-Regalado University at Albany, State University of New York 2020-2023
* Jana Krentz served as the Chair in the Fall 2017 meeting.