2022 José Toribio Medina Award Winner

The winner for the 2022...

The winner for the 2022 José Toribio Medina Award is: Víctor Cid Carmona. Ciudad Letrada: La Gazeta de México y la difusión de la cultura impresa durante el siglo XVIII, a database that allows to identify names, titles and other specific data of books and periodicals through announcements of new publications for sale printed on the pages of the Mexico City periodical La Gazeta de México during the years 1722, 1728-1742, and 1784-1809.

The Medina Award is granted annually to a SALALM member or members for an outstanding contribution to the body of knowledge about Latin American library material, Latin American libraries and librarianship, the Latin American book trade, and/or Latin American Studies.

Ciudad Letrada is an outstanding contribution to research on the intellectual community in Mexico in the 18th century; to the study of the Enlightenment and the dissemination of the ideas associated with that intellectual movement in Mexico through books and periodicals; and to research on printing and the book trade in Mexico during the 18th century.

The Medina Award Panel (Rafael E. Tarragó, Lisa Gardinier, Jana Krentz, Manuel Ostos, and Gayle Williams) congratulates Víctor for his work.